Ascend of the Runners-Up to Miss Universe Philippines Throne

When Jehza Huelar was finally crowned Bb Pilipinas – Supranational 2018, the crowd at Araneta Coliseum rejoiced for the 2016 runner-up. It took her three attempts to finally win a crown. The same can be said of Miss Universe drought-breaker Pia Wurtzbach who won after three tries at the pageant.
Aside from the experience being side-by-side with winners, there is more advantage to runners-up than candidates realize. The runners-up, who also receive allowances and other functions from the Bb. Pilipinas organization, get to be close with the men and women working behind the pageant. Getting up-close and personal with the decision-makers is a significant advantage for runners-up.
Among this year’s 40 official Bb. Pilipinas 2019 candidates, two of which are last year’s runners-up. Both Vickie Rushton (1st runner-up) and Samantha Mae Bernardo (2nd runner-up) decided to give the national pageant another attempt.
Vickie, 26 and Samantha, 27 maybe looking at their last opportunity to win a national title from the pageant franchises owned by Bb. Pilipinas, Inc. The goal, without a doubt, is to ensnare the Miss Universe Philippines crown but will their runner-up status last year help them in this endeavor?
Let’s take a step back at the recent history of Bb Pilipinas and check how the pageant’s runner-up fared in the succeeding editions of the pageant:

Bb Pilipinas Title Queen Runner-Up Year at Bb Pilipinas
Bb Pilipinas – International 2011 Dianne Necio 2010 (1st)
Miss Universe Philippines 2012 Janine Tugonon 2011 (1st)
Miss Universe Philippines 2014 MJ Lastimosa 2011 (2nd)
Miss Universe Philippines 2015 Pia Wurtzbach 2013 (1st)
Bb Pilipinas – Supranational 2018 Jehza Huelar 2016 (2nd)

Pia was once quoted saying that when she was the 1st runner-up of Bb.Pilipinas 2013, she diligently performed all her duties as a runner-up. She made sure that the organization saw the effort that she poured into the job so that one day she may get the promotion that she had been dreaming of. Two years after, she was Miss Universe Philippines. By the end of the year, she was crowned Miss Universe 2015.
Despite improved odds, not all runners-up are afforded an easy route to the crown. In fact, some of the Bb Pilipinas queens experienced loss even after winning runners-up position in previous years.

Bb Pilipinas Title Queen Runner-Up Year at Bb Pilipinas Failed Year
Miss Universe Philippines 2014 MJ Lastimosa 2011 (2nd) 2012 (Top 15)
Miss Universe Philippines 2015 Pia Wurtzbach 2013 (1st) 2014 (Top 15)
Bb Pilipinas – Supranational 2018 Jehza Huelar 2016 (2nd) 2015 (Top 15)

Hannah Ruth Sison is testament to the fact that not all runners-up are assured of a Cinderella story or at least in Sison’s case, a Bb.Pilipinas crown.
Sison was only promoted a runner-up slot higher in her last year of eligibility for any of the crowns. From Bb Pilipinas 2014 2nd Runner-Up, she was crowned Bb Pilipians 2015 1st Runner-Up. She was deprived of a chance to represent the country in at one of the pageant franchises owned by the organization.
Whatever odds are stacked for or against both Rushton and Bernardo, Qrown wishes them both the best of luck. May the odds be ever in their favor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *